Red Velvet Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

I recently found this recipe for these cupcakes from epicurious.com. I have never made anything Red Velvet before tonight, so it was definitely a new experience. I’ve included the link for the recipe below.

My observations: The recipe calls for so much red food coloring! I recently bought a little bottle of red food coloring for this recipe and had I included the 1 tablespoon the recipe called for my bottle would have been empty! So I put in 1/2 tablespoon instead. The cupcakes were still red, but perhaps not as vibrant as they should have been.

The recipe calls for self-rising flour, which was a bit of an understatement. For the first tray of cupcakes, I filled the cups up almost all the way, and after twenty minutes the cupcakes looked like giant mushrooms! As a result, they were really hard to get out of the pan, fell apart, and were near impossible to frost. The second tray went much better as I only filled up the cups half way.

Review of the recipe: The recipe is quite tasty. The cupcakes have a strong chocolate taste, more than most red velvet cupcakes I’ve tasted. The cream cheese is also excellent, but the cream cheese dominates the frosting a bit too much for my taste. The coconut does help offset the cream cheese a little bit. My boyfriend and faithful recipe tester, who is quite a chocolate fan, thought these were delicious!

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Red-Velvet-Cupcakes-with-Coconut-and-Cream-Cheese-Frosting-235169

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

