Homemade Spaghetti and Winston!

I know I have been very remiss on my Weekly Winston posts! He wasn’t at home with me on my vacation so I didn’t have many opportunities to demonstrate his excellent kitchen skills. One of his best traits is his keen sense of smell. Anytime meat or chicken is an ingredient in the meal he is at my side in the blink of an eye. This time he helped with homemade spaghetti sauce.

I started my new job on Tuesday and knowing I would be very sleepy at night, I made a bunch of food on Monday to prepare. On the menu was a huge batch of spaghetti, Chinese chicken salad, and apple cinnamon muffins. Winston helped me determine that the meat and noodles were cooked and ready to go…

He has a very advanced palate.

This recipe has been in my family for as long as I can remember, I don’t even know where it came from. Frankly, I think my mom made it up. While my mom always used to make it during the winter, I think spaghetti tastes amazing all year round. The recipe makes a huge batch, so usually it lasts for a couple of dinners for me and my bf, as well as a few lunches. Then I take the remaining sauce and use it for filling in lasagna (that post will come later this week).

Here are some tricks I have learned as I have made it. If you have a sensitive tummy, cut up a large carrot and throw it in the pot while the sauce is simmering. It takes a lot of the acid from the tomatoes, but none of the flavor. If you like the sauce more creamy, add some milk. I personally prefer a more bolognese-type sauce, so I have tons of meat in mine. This week I made the sauce on Monday, boiled the paste on Tuesday (while making extra for lunch Wednesday) and then added and voila!

Sauce!

Add some pasta....

1 Comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies, Uncategorized, Weekly Winston

One response to “Homemade Spaghetti and Winston!

  1. DTheveny

    The following ingredients are essential:
    Fresh basil, the best tomatoes you can find, ample garlic and an entire day of simmering.

Leave a Reply

