Apple Cinnamon muffins

These muffins are the last of my Monday night creations. As you can tell, when I’m trying to cook a lot in a little bit of time, or I’m tired, I tend to go with my oldies and goodies. This recipe is the Apple Walnut Muffin recipe from the newer edition of “The Joy of Cooking”, except I leave out the walnuts because I don’t like nuts.

The recipe is super easy and almost fail-proof. The only part that is a little tricky is how long to leave them in the oven. I usually test baked goods with a toothpick, but if you do that here and wait for the toothpick to come out clean, the bottom of the muffins will be overcooked. You want there to still be a little gooey-ness on the top- it makes them more tasty, I promise. I would suggest using the juiciest apples you can find because it makes the muffins more fruity, rather than bran-y. These muffins are pretty sweet, so they can almost substitute as a dessert, but are better for you than cupcakes. I’ve been having them as an afternoon snack or with breakfast and it’s a great way to start the day.

Clearly they go fast in my house!

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

