Lasagna from Scratch

This post was the one promised in my discussion of the spaghetti sauce. One of my favorite things about the sauce is that it makes enough for many meals and lasagna filling. In addition, the sauce is really thick and meaty, so it gives the lasagna some substance. I hate really runny and thin lasagna. I think there should be clear layers the then combine pleasantly in your mouth, not run together in one goupy pile on your plate.

I start of with putting sauce at the bottom of a pan, then put noodles, then a ricotta/egg/ thyme mix, then Parmesan and mozzarella cheese, then sauce, noodles, ricotta, cheeses, sauce, noodles, sauce and Parmesan. This order is a little different than most lasagnas because I like having an extra layer of noodles. I bake it for 35 minutes on 375 then let sit for ten minutes to cool a bit.

This dish is one of the ultimate comfort foods and is amazing for a cold winter night. Because it’s so easy I also make it in the summer, but I would avoid it if you don’t have air conditioning.

yummy yummy in my tummy

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

