Blueberry Oatmeal Scones

So I have to start this post by saying that while I like cooking, I LOVE baking. Because baking is far less productive and far less healthy, I’m trying to find new outlets. Some of that energy is going into trying new cooking recipes, but I’m also trying new breads, scones, and muffins. These scones are my newest non-dessert baking adventure.

First of all, I must say they are absolutely delicious. They are an amazing breakfast, afternoon snack or lunch treat. I think they would also be amazing with tea. The recipe is also a really healthy scone option. There is only a little bit of sugar, some butter, and I used fat free half-and-half rather than regular. The recipe is also really really easy.

I would make a few changes to the recipe. The recipe calls for a food processor, but I don’t have one big enough to handle all of the dry ingredients, so I just used a hand mixer and that worked just fine. The reason these scones are so big is because I made a bit of a boo-boo. I accidentally used a 1 cup measuring scoop instead of a 1/2 cup. They were still really tasty, but huge. Also, the cooking time was way too long, even for my giant size scones. I did 15 minutes to start, and then it said to switch the bottom sheet to the top and the top to the bottom. The recipe then says to do another 12 minutes. I set the timer for 10 minutes, but thank goodness I checked after 6 minutes because they were done and even could have come out a minute sooner.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Blueberry-Oat-Scones-353777

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

