Homemade Granola

In an attempt to be healthier, I thought I would try making granola so that when I have the afternoon munchies I can reach for something other than my typical goldfish. I got this recipe at epicurious.com and the ingredients are actually much healthier than most granola recipes I’ve looked at. There is only a little brown sugar and honey, whereas most granolas have tons of sugar, molasses, etc. I was hoping to add dried apricots and cranberries, but I couldn’t find dried cranberries at the grocery store, so I had to settle for only apricots. Also, the recipe calls for unsweetened coconut, but I had sweetened coconut so I decided to just go with that.

Another benefit is that the recipe is super easy to make. It’s like a two step process! You mix all the spices and dry ingredients in a bowl, heat the honey and vegetable oil together, pour the mix over the dry ingredients, put on a tray and bake! I was a little uncertain how long to bake the mix. The recipe said 40 minutes, but after 30 my oats were looking the golden brown and would have burned if I had left the tray in for another 1o minutes. Also after 30 minutes, the oats were still a bit soft so I wasn’t sure what to do. I hate burnt baked goods so I decided to take the tray out.

After baking.

It was definitely a good decision to stop after 30 minutes. The oats hardened after they cooled and had a nice crunch without being burnt. After the oats cooled, I cut up apricots and added them, then put the entire mix in a air-tight container.

This container dwarfs the amount that the recipe makes, I swear it’s a lot!

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Everyday-Granola-359317

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

