Chicken Skewers with Mustard Dipping Sauce

This recipe was given to me by a member of my bf’s family, so technically it is an old recipe, but this was the first time I had made it, so it is new for me. The marinade for the chicken has soy sauce, vegetable oil, sherry, pepper, garlic and a little brown sugar. I only marinated the chicken for like 45 minutes because I got home from work late, but it’s supposed to be done for a couple of hours. My lovely bf cut the chicken into bite or two-bite size pieces (I hate raw chicken) before putting the pieces in the marinade.

While the chicken was soaking, I made the dipping sauce, which consists of light mayo, Dijon mustard and Worcestershire sauce. I only had time to refrigerate it for an hour and a half, but ideally it would be closer to 3 hours. I also cut up green onions, or scallions, into 1/2 pieces and soaked bamboo skewers so that they wouldn’t burn in the oven.

I think put the chicken and the scallions on the skewers, alternating, and put the kabobs on a tin-foil lined broiler pan.

We broiled the chicken for about 7-8 minutes, then took the pan out, turned over the skewers and cooked the other side for a few minutes. While the chicken was cooking, I steamed little red potatoes as well.

We then ate dinner while watching one of our favorite shows…Leverage! It was a lovely night.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes, Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

