Risotto with mozzarella, sun-dried tomatoes, and basil

This dish was extremely tasty, but was also a really good learning experience. Let me start by saying, that while I love risotto, I had never made it before. My mom always thinks it’s too heavy so she never made it, and I guess this was the first recipe that really caught my attention. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Risotto-with-Sun-Dried-Tomatoes-and-Mozzarella/Detail.aspx?src=etaf. There were several things I liked about this recipe- it had no cream or butter, so it wasn’t too rich or thick (also more healthy!). It had a nice summer flavor and I love all the ingredients. There were also a few changes I would make: the ratio of risotto to other ingredients wasn’t quite right. The amount of cheese was perfect, but I would have increased the amount of basil and sun-dried tomatoes (but not the oil, that was just right).

That being said, there was a bit of confusion with the recipe. Basically you take some of the oil from the sun-dried tomato bottle, saute an onion and then add the risotto. After a minute or so, you start adding the vegetable broth (that was simmering). You add a ladle at a time, letting it soak into the risotto before adding more. Well here is where I had some trouble. The recipe said to cook it over low heat, so I did. But the risotto was NOT getting any softer. Finally after about an HOUR I asked my lovely bf to look online. He determined that the risotto was actually supposed to be simmering- which is essentially medium heat. Once I turned up the heat, it took no time at all before the risotto was the proper firmness.

Post-bf intervention

Once the risotto was finished, I added the parmesan, mozzarella, sun-dried tomatoes, basil and a little more oil, mixed it all together and it was done!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

