Salmon and Corn

For those of you who don’t know, I am currently applying to history PhD programs. While I am 100% convinced this path is the right one for me, it has been a tortuous process. For a long time (and by long I mean 15 years) I thought I wanted to go to law school. I studied, took the LSAT, did well, applied to law schools, was accepted and decided it was all wrong. While I try to chalk the whole thing up as a “learning experience”, it definitely sapped some of my ability to deal with applications. I’m working on the GRE, essays, etc. but sometimes I just need some distractions. For me, there is no better form of procrastination than cooking. Not only is it productive, maybe not the way I should be productive, but I’m producing something nonetheless- but it’s tasty and feeds my little family.

So anyway, enough of my personal ramblings and on to tonight’s recipe….

As summer is about to come to an end (hopefully in D.C.- this summer has been the season from hell), my bf and I are eating as much corn as we can get our hands on. There are few things tastier than fresh, boiled corn with a little butter, salt and pepper.

Because I have been cooking a ridiculous amount of pasta and chicken, salmon is one of my recent attempts to branch out. This recipe is one of my mom’s and as usual, I have no idea where it even came from. She is usually in too much of a rush to measure ingredients, so she just eyeballs it. I am way too precise, and frankly anal, to cook that way, so here are the ingredients for the salmon recipe. There is 1/2 cup olive oil, 3 tablespoons finely chopped chives, 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard, and 3 tablespoons lemon juice. I whisked it all together, then let the fish marinate for up to 30 minutes.

Don’t forget to marinate the fish in a non-reactive (aka non-metal) bowl! I then baked the salmon for about 25-30 minutes at 325 degrees. This recipe is actually better grilled, but as I’ve said before, I don’t have a grill right now. Whether you are grilling or baking, the flavor is stronger if you spoon the marinade over the fish every few minutes. You can also use this marinade on shrimp (marinade them after they have been cooked, but while they are still warm, for up to 24 hours).

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

