Soup with cheese ravioli, kale, kielbasa and cannelloni beans

This is one of most interesting and unusual soup recipes I’ve ever had or made. With a huge amount of kale, cannelloni beans and sausage, it’s also really healthy.

Basically, you chop up an onion and a cup of fennel bulb, 4 cloves of garlic, 1.5 teaspoons of thyme, and 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. You also slice 12 ounces of smoked kielbasa sausage. After heating up 2 tablespoons of olive oil, you add those ingredients and saute for about 12 minutes. You then add 10 cups of chicken stock and bring it to a boil. Then you add 4 cups of chopped kale and 15 ounces of cannelloni beans. Simmer for 4 minutes, then add a 9 ounce container of fresh cheese ravioli. Serve with Parmesan on top.

Of course, life always throws some curve balls. I was out of town earlier this week, as you know, and my wonderful bf went grocery shopping for me. He had some trouble finding the canned cannelloni beans, so he got dry. I had to soak them for a while before I could add them to the soup.

While the beans were soaking, I chopped up all of the veggies.

The grocery store didn’t have kielbasa, so I went with sweet Italian sausage. It wasn’t cooked, so I needed to cook it before slicing….which added some time to the process.

Of course, any sort of meat in my kitchen always brings out my little helper.

Anyway, once the sausage was done, I sliced them, then cooked the veggies and the sausage.

Then I added the broth, kale and cannelloni….

Once the kale was wilted, I added the tortellini and cooked them for about 5 minutes.

Luckily, despite the small changes… it all turned out ok!

Usually, the soup is really easy to make, but it was a little harder this time, only because of my cooking curve balls. The beans were still a little too hard, but I just can’t figure out how you are supposed to soak beans. I’m hoping that they will soften overnight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

