Old-fashioned chicken and dumplings

So I don’t know if it’s my intense longing for real fall weather, or the fact that I’ve had a really hard week, but recently I’ve been all about comfort food. According to my menu, I was going to make my Chinese Chicken Salad tonight, but I just wasn’t in the mood. I was in the mood, however for some hearty stew. This recipe really hit the spot and then some. Literally, I kid you not, my bf said after eating this dinner “God bless you….this is one of the three most amazing things you’ve ever made”. So, clearly it went over well. Here is the link:

http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/old-fashioned-chicken-dumplings

First, I chopped up the carrots, celery and onion. Thank god for my mini-Cuisinart, I’ve been doing a lot of chopping lately!

Then, I cut up the chicken and tossed it with the flour.

I then cooked the chicken in a big pot in a little bit of oil.

Once the chicken was a little browned, I took the chicken out of the pot, placed it on a plate, and added the chopped up vegetables, with a little oil, and the spices.

After about 5-7 minutes, I added the broth, water, peas, and chicken.

While the stew was coming to a simmer, I made the dumpling dough. I was shocked by how easy it was to make the dough. It’s only whole wheat flour, regular flour, fat-free buttermilk, poultry seasoning, salt, and baking soda.

I then dropped 1 tablespoon-sized balls of dough into the simmering soup. After 15 minutes, covered and undisturbed, the dumplings and stew were done!

This stew is super filling, so the bowl below was actually too much for me, as much as I wanted to keep eating!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

