Pork tenderloin with sage and roasted grapes

I was determined to try this recipe because a) it’s not chicken b) it’s not pasta and c) it’s healthy! I am really glad I gave it a shot because it was really tasty. I, however, wish I had done a better job documenting my progress with photos…about half way through I got distracted with pie testing and making extra dinners for this weekend when I will be gone. Anyway, take my word for it, it was delicious. Here is the recipe: http://www.blue-kitchen.com/2010/09/15/easing-into-autumn-simple-flavorful-pork-tenderloin-with-sage-and-roasted-grapes/

First, I peeled the shallots, cut them in half, drizzled them with olive oil and seasoned them with salt and pepper. While I was preparing the next steps, I roasted the shallots for about 15 minutes at 375.

Then I took the pork out of the case and patted it down with paper towels. Next I rubbed it with some olive oil, then sprinkled it with salt and pepper. Ideally I should then place sage leaves on top and tie the two pieces of pork with cooking twine. However, my grocery store did not carry cooking twine, so instead I put the sage in between the two pieces and put three toothpicks through the two loins to hold them together. (This is where I forgot to take a picture).

I then heated some olive oil in a skillet and browned the loins on all sides (also forgot to document this step). While they were browning I tossed some grapes in olive oil.

I also cut up the garlic and sage.

Once the pork had browned on all sides, I took it out and placed it on a plate. In the remaining olive oil I quickly cooked the garlic and sage (about 45 seconds). Then I removed the skillet from the heat, moved the garlic, sage and olive oil to a glass pyrex. Ideally I would have used a larger oven-safe skillet, but I didn’t have one. I added the chicken broth, put the pork into the pan, placed the shallots around the pork and added the grapes.

Then I should have roasted the whole mix for 10 minutes covered, and then 10-15 minutes uncovered. But I didn’t have a top, so I put a cookie tray over the pyrex for ten minutes and then removed it for the last 15. It worked ok, it wasn’t perfect but the meat came out just fine.

The grapes were such a great addition with the pork, they tasted amazing together. Definitely a wonderful fall recipe, still pretty lite but richer than most summer fare!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

