Golden Corn Salad with Fresh Basil

I got this recipe from the Cooking Light Magazine while I was home this weekend. I was home for a family emergency, so I didn’t get to post much, but I did make this salad for a big family dinner and it was amazing. I doubled the recipe (because my family is the size of a small country) so that’s why the amounts of everything look gigantic. Here is the recipe online: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=2011040

So this recipe didn’t say to cook the corn, but I wasn’t really sure and I thought it would be kind of weird if I didn’t, so I erred on the side of caution and went with cooking. Turns out I was wrong, but frankly, I think it was better my way. First I boiled the potatoes and the corn.

While they were boiling I cut the tomatoes in half and chopped up the red peppers.

Once the corn and potatoes were done, I cut up the potatoes and added them into a bowl with the tomatoes and peppers.

Then I cut the corn of the cob and added it to the mix.

Next I whisked together the dressing, which was made of shallots, white balsamic vinegar, olive oil, salt, pepper, and Dijon mustard. I then poured it over the mix in the bowl and tossed.

Then I added the arugula and mixed again.

Finally I added the basil and the cheese to the top.

The salad looks a little arugula heavy from this picture, but once you mixed it all together and the dressing caused the arugula to calm down a bit, the amount was just right. It’s a perfect late summer salad and I’d definitely recommend it.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

