Quinoa with Chicken and Veggies

Since all of my family drama and travels are hopefully behind me, I am now resuming my intense cooking schedule. I had never made quinoa before, but since it is supposedly the miracle ingredient (tons of protein, fiber, vitamins, amino acid, etc.), I had to give it a shot. I LOVE this recipe. It tastes amazing, is really easy to make, super healthy and is so filling that you really don’t have to eat much and you are stuffed! Here is the recipe: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chicken-with-Quinoa-and-Veggies/Detail.aspx?ms=1&prop25=43794108&prop26=DailyDish&prop27=2010-09-08&prop28=DailyRecipe&prop29=FullRecipe&me=1

Since I am really anal about how I cook, I always cut up things and get all of my ingredients ready. Today was no exception. First, I chopped up the onion and the garlic. The recipe called for garlic scapes, but my grocery store didn’t seem to have garlic scapes, so I just used regular garlic.

Then I chopped up the tomatoes and the zucchini.

My bf was also gone tonight while I was cooking, so I had to cut up the raw chicken….ewwww!!!!

I then heated up some olive oil and added the onion and the garlic and cooked them for about five minutes.

I then added the chicken and cooked the chicken for about five minutes.

Meanwhile, I put the quinoa and chicken broth in a sauce pan and brought it to a boil. Once it was boiling, I simmered it for about 10 minutes.

Back to the chicken! After five minutes, I removed the chicken from the skillet and set it aside. I added two more tablespoons of olive oil and the zucchini and tomatoes.

After cooking the veggies for 5-8 minutes, I added the chicken again. Then I added the feta, the basil, and the lime juice.

After about 10 minutes, I spooned the mix over a boil of quinoa.

This boil ended up being way too big and I couldn’t finish it! It was so tasty I really wanted to but my belly was too full!

2 Comments

Filed under New Recipes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Quinoa with Chicken and Veggies

  1. Pingback: Repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Recent Repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

