Birthday German Chocolate Cake

This cake was for my bf’s birthday, so I was more than happy to undertake the daunting venture that was this cake. It was amazing, so it was worth what felt like the 1000 steps. Bear with me, this will be a long post, and I got lazy towards to end and didn’t even document every step!

I think part of the reason this cake felt like it took forever was that I sort of had to stop and start. So this morning, to prepare, I separated the eggs to use in the cake.

I also measured, cut out and placed parchment circles inside the cake pans (there are three of them). To make the paper stay, I put margarine on the bottom of the pan, then put down the paper, and reapplying the margarine on top to make sure the paper stayed.

I also sifted the cake flower and mixed the flour with the salt and baking soda. I don’t have an actual sifter, so I kind of had to make my own.

My final preparation step was to melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Again, I don’t have my own, so I had to put together a make-shift one. Do you have kitchen wish lists? This is at the top of mine!

Once the chocolate was melted, I added 1/4 cup butter and mixed together.

I also added the warm milk. Then I removed the chocolate from the heat and let it cool.

When I returned later to resume my work on the cake, I beat the egg whites I had previously separated until stiff.

I then beat together the yolks and the sugar.

Then I added the melted chocolate mix and blended.

Next, I alternated adding flour and buttermilk, starting and ended with flour.

Adding the buttermilk...

Finishing with flour....

Then I poured the mix into the pans and baked at 350 for 30 minutes.

Once the cakes had finished baking, I cooled them in the pans for 8 minutes, then removed them onto cooling racks that had been sprayed with PAM.

While the cakes were cooling, I tackled the frosting. The frosting called for evaporated milk, but I forget to get some at the grocery store. So I started by evaporating the liquid from some milk.

Here is where I got lazy with pictures. Next I chopped up the pecans and finely shredded the coconut. Then I combined the sugar, four more egg yolks and the evaporated milk in a double boiler. I mixed it together and simmered the mix for 10-15 minutes until it thickened. I then mixed the coconut, pecans and sugar/egg mix together and let it cool.

Once the frosting cooled, I frosted the cake.

layer 1

Now, I swear I follow the recipe exactly to the “T”. But this cake looks ridiculous. Tastes amazing, but looks insane. I’m not sure why.

Anyway, the cake was a birthday success! Here is the recipe online: http://www.rachaelrayshow.com/food/recipes/trisha-yearwoods-german-chocolate-cake-coconut-frosting/

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment