White Chili with Cornbread

I actually made this dish last night but was so tired after eating that I simply could not have written an even remotely interesting post. I intended to document this recipe as I usually do, step by step, but my mom called, and I’m notorious for talking on the phone while cooking or baking and then forgetting to do things. Sometimes it’s forgetting to add the baking powder or adding too much butter, this time it was taking pictures of every step.

I remembered about half way through and from that point on I was really diligent, but it simply won’t give you the full picture. The recipe was amazing though, so I’ll definitely be making it again and I’ll post more pictures at that time. I got this recipe from a family recommendation, but here it is online: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/white-bean-and-chicken-chili-recipe/index.html

First, I got prepared. I chopped the onion and the garlic. (This is when my mom called). I heated some olive oil and the cooked the onion for five minutes. I then added the garlic and cooked it for another 45 seconds. (See Thursday’s post. The first step looks the same). Then I added two pounds of ground turkey. The recipe actually calls for ground chicken but the store didn’t have it. I used dark ground turkey (it almost looks like beef) because generally it works better in recipes that call for ground meat. I then added the cumin, coriander, salt and fennel seeds. I cooked the turkey for about 8 minutes, until it was all done.

Now this part of the recipe presented some problems. The recipe called for 2 teaspoons chili powder. When it comes to spices I’m fairly knowledgeable, but hot spices are an entirely different matter. I thought we had chili powder, but we didn’t so I figured cayenne pepper would suffice. Turns out apparently cayenne is way spicier. I didn’t realize my mistake until I went to try the chili and hour later and nearly choked. More on this later.

When the turkey was done, I added the flour and mixed.

While the turkey was cooking, I tore up the swiss chard.

Then I added the torn swiss chard, corn and broth.

The recipe calls for cannellini beans, but the grocery store was out (clearly my grocery store needs some work). So instead I got big butter beans. Basically any kind of white bean will do.

Once I had added all the ingredients, the chili then needed to simmer for 50-60 minutes.

This is what the chili looked like after simmering for a little while.

While the chili was simmering, I made the corn bread. I am making a fancy cake for bf’s birthday today, so I wasn’t in the mood to make it from scratch. Instead, I used the Betty Crocker mix.

Below is what it looked like done. It was very tasty, but not very thick. I was hoping it would rise more and provide heartier pieces.

Anyway, when we went to eat the meal, I had a near-death experience. After some prompting, I tried it again, this time avoiding the broth. It wasn’t nearly as spicy if I avoided the broth. Frankly, I couldn’t not eat it because it smelled so good and tasted so yummy! Next time, I’m definitely going to buy chili powder and not kill my tongue. However if you are a spicy fan, than my mistake might be one you want to make intentionally.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

