Spiced Pork Tenderloin with Apples

This pork tenderloin recipe was way better than the last one, I must confess. It’s very flavorful and has a great texture. It also only takes about 20 minutes, only requires a few grocery store items, along with a few pantry items and is super healthy! Here is the recipe online: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000002012820

First, as usual, I prepared to cook. I sliced the apples, which I think next time I could do with more of- I followed the recipe exactly, but my pork tenderloin was 1.5 pounds, but the recipe called for 1 pound of pork, so the ratio was just a tad off.

Next, I chopped the red onions.

I also mixed the spice rub ahead of time.

 

Finally, I sliced the pork. Which was no easy feat because I’m not much of a meat expert. I did my best to trim the meat but it wasn’t easy.

Then I sprinkled the pork on both sides with the spice mixture.

Next I cooked the pork for a few minutes on both sides, until it was cooked through. Then I put the pork on a plate and placed the plate in the oven on low heat while I cooked the apples.

To cook the apples, I started by melting the butter in the same pan as the pork. It’s important not to clean the pan out in between steps because the leftover spices mix great with the apples.

Then I added the apples and the red onions (the recipe called for shallots, but I didn’t have them, so red onions were a close substitute) and cooked them for a few minutes.

 

After about four minutes, I added the apple cider and salt and cooked for two more minutes.

I then added the thyme and put the mix over the pork.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

