Risotto with roasted butternut squash and sugared walnuts

This recipe just seemed like fall to me, so I was game to try it. It was super tasty and not as heavy as a lot of other risotto recipes. I also thought that it was really complex with lots of flavors and textures. Here is the link to the recipe: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000002012794

First, I chopped up the walnuts and preheated the oven to 400 degrees.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I laid out the walnuts on a small tray and baked them for about five minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the walnuts baked, I mixed them with brown sugar and pepper.

Then I poured the melted butter over the mix and set the bowl aside.

While the walnuts were baking, I chopped up the squash.

I then tossed the squash with olive oil, laid out the squash on the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I then baked the squash for about 15 minutes. While the squash was baking, I combined the chicken stock and water and brought the mix to a simmer.

Next, I chopped the turkey bacon. The recipe calls for pancetta, but I rarely actually buy pancetta and I usually just use bacon.

I cooked the bacon for about five minutes and then added the onions and cooked for a few more minutes.

At about this point, the squash was done, so I took it out of the oven, mixed with the garlic and set aside.

Then I returned to the stove. I added the risotto to the skillet and cooked for a few minutes. Then I added lemon juice. The recipe called for chardonnay, but I didn’t have any in the house and I didn’t want to buy more because I don’t drink wine and I didn’t want it to go bad.

After the lemon juice had mostly been absorbed, I started adding the chicken broth mix a half-cup at a time.

I stirred the risotto constantly until each half-cup of broth was mostly absorbed. It took about 20 minutes until the risotto was nice and creamy. Then I added the thyme, lemon zest and squash to the risotto.

After reheating the squash, I poured the contents of the skillet into a big bowl. I sprinkled the walnuts and the parmesan cheese over the risotto.

Finally, I mixed in the nuts and the cheese and served. It was delicious!

1 Comment

Filed under New Recipes

One response to “Risotto with roasted butternut squash and sugared walnuts

  1. Pingback: This week’s repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

