Lightened up mac and cheese

This was one of the easiest recipes I have discussed so far, especially because most of the ingredients are always in my pantry. And it was absolutely fabulous. I actually got it from one of my favorite blogs, here is the recipe: http://brokeassgourmet.com/articles/lightened-up-mac-and-cheese

First, I brought a pot of water to boil and added the pasta.

Then, while the pasta was boiling, I chopped the half onion and garlic, heated up some olive oil in a pot, and added the onion and garlic.

After the onion and garlic had cooked for a few minutes, I added two tablespoons of flour, which turned the mix into a paste like consistency…actually almost like cookie dough.

Meanwhile, the pasta was almost done, so I added the broccoli to the boiling water when the pasta still had about a minute left to go. After a minute, I drained both.

Back to the sauce! I slowly added the cup of non-fat milk while, whisking the mix the entire time over medium heat.

Then I slowly added the Mozzarella and the Parmesan, also whisking the entire time.

Once the cheese was completely blended, I returned the pasta and broccoli to the big pot. I added the cheese, turned the heat on low, put a dash of salt and pepper in, and combined.

Then I poured all of pasta mix into an 8 x 8 baking dish.

Finally, I sprinkled some Parmesan on top of the pan.

 

I then put the pan in the oven at 375 for 15 minutes until the cheese was crispy on top and it was done!

2 Comments

Filed under New Recipes

2 responses to “Lightened up mac and cheese

  1. SameSchool

    This looks SO good. Definitely going to be making this sometime soon.

  2. It was so good! It needed a little salt and pepper at the end, but other than that it was wonderful! And it was so easy and required so few ingredients….definitely two big pluses in my book!

Leave a Reply

