Chicken stuffed with feta and sun-dried tomatoes

I got this recipe from allrecipes.com through their daily dish email alert. The recipe is here: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Feta-and-Sun-Dried-Tomato-Stuffed-Chicken/Detail.aspx?ms=1&prop25=45665275&prop26=DailyDish&prop27=2010-10-07&prop28=DailyRecipe&prop29=FullRecipe&me=1

I really liked this dish, although it certainly wasn’t my prettiest creation. It’s also pretty messy to make and would be easier if I had three hands.

I started by making the marinade. I mixed the olive oil, lemon juice and lemon zest.

Then the recipe called for Greek seasoning to be added the marinade. I don’t have Greek seasoning and my grocery store’s spice aisle leaves a lot to be desired, so I added some garlic powder, onion powder, dried oregano, dried basil, dried thyme and salt.

Then my bf helped me by pounding out the chicken. We don’t have a mallet, so we used a metal ice cream scoop. It took a little longer, but worked pretty well. The chicken needed to be about a 1/4 inch thick. I think in the future, I will make the chicken a little thinner.

This was the chicken pre-pounding

I then marinaded the chicken for about 30 minutes.

While the chicken was marinating, I prepared the filling. The recipe originally was intended for 2 chicken breasts, but as you know, I’m all about having leftovers, so I doubled the recipe. First, I chopped up the olives.

Then I mixed the olives with the sun-dried tomatoes and the cheese. I didn’t realize that I needed to double the recipe until I had got home from the grocery store. So I included the four ounces of feta cheese and then added four ounces of mozzarella.

When the chicken was done marinating, I shook off the extra marinade and then put the stuffing in the center of the flattened chicken.

I then rolled up the breasts and secured them with took picks. I then flipped them upside down so the seam is on the bottom. Then I draped roasted red peppers on top of the stuffed breasts.

After baking the chicken for about 30 minutes at 375 degrees, the chicken was done and we had broccoli on the side.

It was really tasty and a great dinner, but of everything I’ve made, it just seemed like more effort than it was worth.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

