Holiday Sugar Cookies

These sugar cookies are an old family recipe that we make for any holiday. We all have stashes of cookie cutters with Valentine’s Day, Halloween, Easter and Christmas shapes. This time I did pumpkins and cats for Halloween, but the cats didn’t work out very well because the tail in the cutout was too skinny, so it was really hard to get the dough out. So I only ended up making 3 cats and the rest were pumpkins.

I absolutely love this recipe. I have never met anyone who doesn’t like these cookies and they are so versatile. My only complaint is that the recipe doesn’t make enough cookies!

First, I combined the sugar and the butter until it was a creamy mix.

Then I added the egg and mixed again.

Next, I added the remaining ingredients: flour, salt, baking powder, vanilla, milk and a little bit of orange zest.

Then I wrapped up the dough in parchment paper and put it in the fridge for an hour.

After an hour, I put a little flour on a big cutting board. Then I rolled out the dough to about 1/3 – 1/2 of an inch thick. Then I used the cookie cutters and cut out shapes and placed them on the cookie sheet with parchment paper.

I baked the cookies for about 8 minutes, or until the edges were just beginning to turn golden brown.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once the cookies were completely cool, I made the frosting. It’s made of powdered sugar, a little milk, a drop of vanilla and whatever food coloring you prefer.

(This was the leftover frosting after my second batch). Then I frosted the cookies and put a few sprinkles on the stems of the pumpkins.

I didn’t have any dark chocolate sprinkles to put on the kitties so I just left them white.

1 Comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

One response to “Holiday Sugar Cookies

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Week | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

