Fettucine with Peas, Asparagus and Bacon

I’ve made this recipe before, but it is the first time since I started my blog. It’s super tasty and one of the fastest dinners I make. It’s also nice because it has protein (bacon), tons of veggies, and pasta. Here is the recipe: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Fettucine-with-Peas-Asparagus-and-Pancetta-358490

I started by chopping the bacon (I use turkey bacon almost always, including tonight). Then I cooked it in a large skillet for a few minutes until it was nice and crispy, but not burned.

While the bacon was cooking, I chopped the asparagus and the green onions. The recipe says to separate the dark green parts of the green onions from the light green and white parts. Tonight, I really didn’t feel like doing that, so I just left them in one bunch.

 

 

 

Once the bacon was done, I put it in a small bowl. Because I use turkey bacon, there aren’t any drippings in which I can cook the vegetables. So I added a little olive oil, added the asparagus, then cooked the asparagus for a few minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After cooking the asparagus for a few minutes, I added the green onions, the peas, and the pressed garlic. Frankly, I think the recipe would be better with chopped garlic. Not only is it easier to do and far less annoying, in my opinion, but I think it would mix into the recipe easier.

 

 

Once the peas had defrosted and the veggies were tender, I removed the skillet from heat and put it aside. While cooking the veggies, I started the water boiling for the pasta. I boiled the pasta for about 10 minutes and then reserved 1/2 of pasta water before draining the pasta.

 

 

Once the pasta had drained, I returned it to the pot.

 

 

 

 

 

I then added the rest of the ingredients. I put in the veggie mix, the bacon, the cream, 1/4 cup of the pasta water, the lemon zest, lemon juice, olive oil and parmesan. As a side note- I always use light cream in this recipe. It doesn’t harm the flavor at all, and it’s healthier. I didn’t have any fresh basil, so I put a little dried basil in, and mixed everything together over low heat.

 

 

I then served the pasta into bowls. Make sure you get enough of the cream sauce, veggies and bacon from the bottom- that’s the really yummy stuff.

 

 

 

 

So tasty! And looks pretty darn good too, if I say so myself!

1 Comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies, Pasta, grains, etc.

One response to “Fettucine with Peas, Asparagus and Bacon

  1. Pingback: Repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

