Rice Pilaf with Almonds and Golden Raisins, with Sausage

This dish was a really nice change of pace. The flavors were really different from what I usually make and was a nice accompaniment to the sausage. I wish I had had some salad, but we were out of lettuce, so the meal was unfortunately green-free. I got the rice recipe here: http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/361570

I started by cleaning and then soaking the rice for about 30 minutes. In the future I think I would soak it more, because the rice was still a bit crunchy even after it was cooked.

 

 

While it was soaking, I cut up the onion. The recipe called for half onion, but although the rice dish was really really good, I think I would include some more of the other ingredients and flavor.

Next, I heated up the vegetable oil and then added a few shakes of cinnamon. The recipe called for a cinnamon stick, but I didn’t have any of those, so I used ground cinnamon instead and it worked great.

 

 

Then I added the onions and cooked them until they had just browned.

 

 

 

Next, I added the almonds and cooked them for just a minute or two until they were golden brown.

 

 

This step actually was a couple steps in one. I added raisins and let them cook for a few seconds and then added the rice.

 

 

My next step was to add the salt and the water. Then I covered the skillet and let it simmer for about 30 minutes over low heat.

 

 

Meanwhile, we (my bf helped me with these) added the sausages to another skillet.

 

 

 

We cooked the sausages for a few minutes on each side, until they were browned.

 

 

These sausages, because they are fresh, tend to take a long time to cook, so we then add some water, cover the skillet and cook for a few more minutes until the sausages are cooked through.

 

 

Here is our final meal, as I said- embarrassingly non-green, but it was really really good!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

