Easy Pantry Pasta

I absolutely loved the flavor in this pasta, and it was very easy to make. With the exception of the capers and some fresh parsley, I had everything I needed. However, as much as I liked the flavor, it was so spicy I couldn’t eat more than a few bites of it. Now, I am a major spicy wuss, but my bf, who loves all things hot and painful, concurred. Next time, I’ll leave the crushed red pepper out and he can add it as he pleases. Here is the recipe, I’d definitely suggest you try it, with or without the red pepper as you so choose: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/easy-pantry-pasta

 

First, I cut up two pieces of stale bread I had left over and drizzled them in olive oil.

 

 

 

Then I baked them at 350 for a few minutes until they were golden brown.

 

 

 

Meanwhile, I started the water for the pasta boiling. When it was ready I added the salt and the noodles.

 

While the pasta was cooking and the croutons were finishing up, I chopped the onion and garlic in my mini-cuisinart. Then I heated some olive oil, added the garlic, onion, crushed red pepper and salt. I cooked the mix until the onions were golden brown then removed the skillets from heat.

While the onions were simmering, I chopped the parsley and capers, and grated the lemon. I then added all three to the skillet (I forgot to take a picture of this step, sorry!). Then I whisked three egg yolks, 3 tablespoons of the reserved pasta water and some olive oil and added that to the skillet as well.

Next, I added the pasta to the skillet and stirred everything together. Then I let the pasta with the sauce simmer for a few minutes to reheat and solidify the yolk a bit. I know this sounds a bit gross, but I swear, it’s so tasty.

 

After a few minutes, I poured everything into a big bowl, added the Parmesan and the croutons and mixed the whole thing together. I really wish I had been able to eat it, but I will definitely try it again sans the red pepper.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

