Fregola Salad with Broccoli and Cipollini Onions

I have a confession: I have recently started watching cooking shows. I feel like that is a little embarrassing, but it’s such a great way to get recipes! I got this one from Giada. I like her show because the food isn’t dripping in butter and fat. This salad looked amazing. I didn’t make it exactly as the recipe suggested. I didn’t have chives, so I used parsley. I must say- the salad looked better on tv than it tasted. I don’t mean to give a bad impression- it was good, but not great. Very healthy and maybe with chives and some more salt and pepper I’d feel differently. I’ll have some leftovers tomorrow and I’ll get back to you. Here is the recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/fregola-salad-with-broccoli-and-cipollini-onions-recipe/index.html

I started by peeling and cutting up the Cipollini onions.

I heated up the olive oil and cooked the onions for about 5 minutes, until they were golden brown.

I then added the minced garlic and cooked for another 30-45 seconds.

Next, I added the broccoli and sauteed for about a minute.

Then I added the water in the skillet, put the top on, and cooked for four minutes.

While the broccoli was cooking, I rinsed the cannellini beans, then added them to the skillet. I cooked the mix for about a minute to heat up the beans.

While I was cooking the vegetables, I also boiled the orzo. My grocery store didn’t carry fregola, so orzo was a nice alternative. I then mixed together the orzo and the vegetables.

Then I added the Parmesan and mixed again.

To make the dressing, I whisked together all of the ingredients, substituting the parsley for the chives, like I mentioned before.

Finally, I poured the dressing over the pasta and veggies and mixed one last time.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes, Pasta, grains, etc.

Leave a Reply

