Autumn Chicken Stew

This recipe is a great winter dish. It’s pretty easy, fast as soups go, and has some different, interesting ingredients. It really feels like fall in a bowl and is super comforting. Here is the recipe: http://www.delish.com/recipefinder/autumn-chicken-stew-recipe-ew0910

Before I talk about how I made the soup, I’m going to take a brief moment to discuss one of the ingredients: parsnips. I had heard of them before, mostly in history books and old literature (yes I’m a total dork), but I had never cooked with them. I must say, I was apprehensive. They smell really bitter and sour and are slimy and feel gross. They sort of look like a mix between a potato and a carrot. But they make a total transformation in soup. They aren’t sour at all and are a wonderful addition to soups. I’m totally a fan.

This was my prep step, I cut up the onion, carrots, parsnips, and rosemary.

I then cut up the chicken and cooked it in some olive oil, until it was cooked through.

While the chicken was cooking, I cut up, peeled, then chopped the apples.

When the chicken was done, I put it on a plate then put some olive oil in the pot and added the cut up some veggies, salt and pepper.

After the veggies cooked for about 5 minutes, I added the apples and the broth. Then I brought the mix to a boil, reduced the heat, and simmered the stew for 8 minutes.

I then added the chicken and the cider vinegar, then stirred. I left it on the stove for a few minutes to re-heat the chicken, then enjoyed!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Poultry, Etc., New Recipes

Leave a Reply

