Cranberry bean holiday soup

There is a tiny little store in my hometown of Lafayette, California called The Nut Factory. You would never know it from the outside, but it actually ships nuts and other products all over the world. My mom picked up a soup package for me to try, and since I had time today I decided to give it a shot.


I am definitely going to pick up more of these little guys and try some new kinds when I next go home. The soup is delicious and really easy to make. You also only need to pick up a few ingredients: a 8 ounce box of spinach, 1 lb. of turkey or regular sausage, and a purple onion. Even though the recipe is so easy, it does take a while because you have to soak the beans, boil the beans, let them sit, etc. for a while so they soften. So, it’s definitely a weekend dinner.

 

 

 

This afternoon, I started by rinsing, then soaking the beans in a lot of water for two hours. I covered the bowl with plastic wrap.

 

 

Then I simmered the beans in 2 quarts of water for an hour. When the hour was up, I turned off the heat and let the beans sit until I was ready to cook the rest of the soup.

 

 

Then I chopped up a purple onion and cooked it in some olive oil for about five minutes.

 

 

While the onion was cooking, I took the skins off the sausage. I must say, definitely not the most appealing task.

 

 

Next, I added the sausage to the pot and cooked for about five minutes. While it was cooking, I chopped it up with my large wooden spoon.

 

 

Then I added the package of spices and dried fruits and veggies that came in the bag. I mixed the spices into the sausage and onion.

 

 

Next, I added 8 cups of chicken broth, though you could use veggie stock too. i also added the beans after I drained them. Then, I covered the pot and let it simmer for an hour.

 

After an hour, I added the spinach square and let it simmer for about ten minutes, or until the the spinach was completely thawed.

 

 

I served the soup with some Parmesan, although next time I’m going to get some of those soup crackers!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

