Grilled Cheese and Cars

When my bf and I graduated in May, we moved out of downtown DC and into the suburbs. We love DC and all that it has to offer, but after four years of being surrounded by noisy college students, we quickly fell in love with our quiet little neighborhood. We both grew up in a suburb that was close to a big city, but still a nice size, so it was sort of like coming home.

 

Winston loves the suburbs too. He has much more room to run around the apartment and this tree outside the family room. Usually it’s inhabited by a variety of squirrels and birds for him to stalk. There has even been a bunny siting underneath the tree.

 

 

 

Anyway, as most of you know, I’m going back to graduate school next year. At that point I always planned to get a car. I didn’t need one in DC and it didn’t make any financial sense. I was stubborn when we moved (nothing new there) and I was convinced I didn’t need a car out here either. I should have known better.

Technically, I can get along without one. The metro is about 1/2 mile away from our apartment. Then my work is about a 1/2 mile from the metro stop. That’s doable. The drug store is right next to the metro. Also fine. One of my favorite parts about the suburbs is that there are real grocery stores. DC has no good grocery stores. There are some nice options but they are either in the ghetto or on the very outskirts of DC. It’s infuriating. Here comes the catch. The grocery store is a good walk from home. I can use the exercise, but the walk home is uphill. Carrying heavy bags of groceries uphill in the snow makes for one very grumpy girl.

I swear I am not writing this blog to complain, so here comes the good news. My adventurous, fearless, sometimes gypsy-like sister is going abroad to Africa in January. She didn’t want to store her car in Boston and I have free parking at my apartment, so she is bringing me her car on Monday. YAY! Can you feel my excitement? It’s literally pouring off me.

I am so looking forward to being able to pop down to the store whenever I feel like it. Lately, my bf have taken to renting a zip car for an hour and a half about once of week. I make a huge list of groceries, plan the meals for the week, and we get everything we need. This plan has worked out ok, except for weeks like this one. My bf had finals and I was sick. Like can’t walk sick. He didn’t have time at night to go with me and I couldn’t go at all. So we ordered some food, ate leftovers, and rediscovered some childhood favorites.

Since this is a food blog after all, here is the food part….When I was little I loved eating breakfast for dinner. It only happened on special occasions, which is why I think I liked it so much. I also loved grilled cheese. I don’t think I had it after 8th grade and then all of a sudden last year I rediscovered them. Well this week I’ve had pancakes for dinner, grilled cheese for lunch, etc.

Doesn’t it just look delicious? So crunchy on the outside, but nice and melty on the inside. Plus it takes all of five minutes. So this winter, if you find yourself stuck in a snow storm, being lazy, or just feeling like it, I encourage you to rediscover the wonder of a grilled cheese!

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

