Vegetable Soup

I have been a very absent and negligent blog host. For this I apologize. One of my New Year’s resolutions is to be consistent with my posting. I am also going to try to up my yoga practice. (This shouldn’t be that hard as I am BARELY doing it at all now). What are some of your resolutions?

Part of the reason I’ve had difficulty posting regularly lately is my dwindling supply of new recipes. I am cooking regularly, but most of my stuff you’ve already seen. So, I have a favor to ask. Please please please share some recipes with me, and if you are willing, the other readers. I will try them out and let you know how it goes!

But for now, I do have a few left, including this wonderful soup. I have some great soup recipes (like my tortellini, sausage, kale and cannellini bean soup), but usually I already have a recipe. I don’t have much success just making soup from scratch. It’s something I’m working on. In the mean time, I found this vegetable soup. I could eat soup almost every day, but my bf isn’t always a huge fan of veggie soup. This one was a hit however. The recipe calls for pancetta, although I used turkey bacon. There isn’t a whole lot of it in the soup but it does provide some heartiness to the recipe. There is also about a ton of vegetables so it’s super healthy. Here is the recipe: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000000399190

I always read the entire recipe before I begin and I noticed that part way through this soup you are supposed to add seven ingredients at once. These ingredients also happened to require a huge amount of cutting, shopping, and preparing of all sorts. So I prepared by peeling and cutting the squash and potatoes, chopping the carrots and celery, then adding the cinnamon, thyme and dried basil.

 

 

 

Then I cut up the turkey bacon. I heated up the olive oil, added the bacon and cooked for about three minutes, stirring occasionally.

 

 

 

 

While the bacon was cooking, I chopped up the onion and garlic and then added to the pot. I cooked the mix for another three minutes.

 

 

 

 

I then added the tomatoes. Confession: I was supposed to add the vegetables and cook for six minutes and then add the tomatoes and cook for two. But I got distracted and added the tomatoes first.

 

 

 

So I added the rest of the veggies and cooked the whole thing for eight minutes. It turned out just fine in the long run. A quick note: the recipe calls for whole canned tomatoes which you drain and chop. While I think the draining is a good idea, make sure you keep the juices from inside the tomatoes, the extra liquid is good.

 

 

 

I then added the broth, brought it to a boil, turned down the heat, then let it simmer for a little while. I actually added a little extra broth because I used extra veggies. For example, the recipe calls for a half a cup of celery, but when I was at a half cup I still had 3/4 of a stalk left. Same with the carrots, potatoes and squash.

 

 

After simmering for a little while, I added the kale and simmered for another five minutes. I had to stir and push down the kale for the first two minutes or so until it softens and begins to reduce.

 

 

 

 

I then added the beans, which I had drained and rinsed, and simmered for another four minutes.

 

 

 

 

I then served two big bowls and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. It was a perfect winter dinner, I definitely recommend it!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

