Bread Pudding with Chocolate

I’ve only ever had bread pudding in England. While I absolutely love it there, somehow when I cross the Atlantic ocean, my ingrained prejudice against it rears it’s ugly head. Why is that? Why do Americans seem to think bread pudding is gross? When I proposed making it, my bf said “I’m not the biggest bread pudding fan, but I’ll try it”. Whatever the reason, this dish will change those perceptions. I promise.

I came across this recipe on one of my favorite blogs and since I am woefully in need of recipes, as I mentioned yesterday, I thought I would give it a shot. It’s wonderfully easy and you need very few special ingredients. Also, as desserts go, it’s not so awful. I used skim milk which always helps. Here is the recipe: http://thisweekfordinner.com/2011/01/05/bread-pudding-experiment/

First, I got my pans ready. I buttered the 8 x 8 dish. I then put a towel on the inside of the large glass pyrex and put the smaller dish inside the pyrex, on top of the towel. At this point, I also started my tea kettle going to heat up some water. I’m going to talk more about this dish later, but isn’t my new Le Creuset baking dish gorgeous?

Then I chopped up the bread and some semi-sweet baking chocolate I had left over from my chocolate-filled Russian tea cakes. You could also use raisins or put fresh fruit on top of it when it’s done baking. When cutting up the bread, first I sliced the load into roughly 1 inch slices. Then I cut off the bottom of the slice and cubed the rest. You want about one layer of bread and then just sprinkle the top with chocolate. You won’t need a full loaf of bread.

Then I made the custard stuff. First I mixed together the eggs, sugar, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla. I added a little extra cinnamon because I love it. I mixed it with a hand mixer. Then I added the melted butter and the milk and stirred it together. Next, I poured the liquid over the bread and chocolate. Using my fingers, I pushed down the bread into the liquid until all of the pieces with soaked. Then I put both pans in the oven. Then, I pulled out the shelf in the oven so that I could pour hot water into the pyrex. You want to make sure the water comes up about half way of the 8×8 pan. It’s really important that the water is there so that the custard sets. I must confess, this step gave me a little trouble. Originally, I had the edges of the towel hanging outside of the large pyrex. However, once I added the water, the towel essentially served as a funnel, allowing the water to drip over the sides. So, I had to lift up the 8×8 dish and tuck the corners of the towel into the large pyrex, then return the small dish.

I baked the pudding for 65 minutes at 325. Depending on your pudding it could take a few minutes less or more. You want the custard in the center to be set, but there can still be a little of liquid. I used a fork and moved a piece of bread and was able to see the custard. We let it cool for a few minutes then ate it hot with whipped cream. It’s also great cold. Thank you so much to Jane for the recipe idea! I loved it!

Oh, and my bf is now a bread pudding fan.

4 Comments

Filed under Dessert, New Recipes

4 responses to “Bread Pudding with Chocolate

  1. Katie

    Frankie & I tried out a great bread pudding recipe as well from The Williams-Sonoma cookbook “Comfort Food”. It uses challah bread and you make a caramel sauce. We added raspberries – it was delish! I will send you the recipe! Can’t wait to try this one!

  2. That sounds amazing! I’ve love to try it!

  3. Pingback: Kitchen Gadgets | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

