Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

I wanted to try a new dessert this weekend and I found this one while browsing around foodpress.com. Here is the recipe: http://daylicious.wordpress.com/2010/12/01/pink-lemonade-cupcakes/

While I altered a few things, the cupcakes are delicious! They are a fantastic alternative to really super sweet, over the top cupcakes. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate and sugar overloads as much as the next self-respecting female or chef, but every so often I love my sour, tart or fruity dessert as well. Plus they are so cute and pink!

First, I started by mixing together the cake mix, the egg whites, the lemonade concentrate, the water, the vegetable oil and the food coloring. Depending on how bright pink you want your cupcakes to be you can add 4-6 drops of food coloring. I personally liked the soft baby pink color, so I went with 4 drops. Then I measured 1/4 cup of batter into each muffin tin and baked at 350 for 20 minutes.

 

 

 

The recipe suggested I spray the liners and the tin with cooking spray and I ignored this step. I probably shouldn’t have, because I had a little trouble getting some of the cupcakes out.

 

 

 

While the cupcakes were baking, I made the frosting. The recipe called for 4 cups of powdered sugar and 1/4 cup lemonade concentrate, along with some softened butter and food coloring. Well I put in four cups of powdered sugar, but needed at least a cup of concentrate to make the frosting actually mixable. I’m not sure how that happened.

Winston is quite curious as to what this lumpy pink thing is...

 

 

Then, using a large freezer bag, I piped the frosting onto the cupcakes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t it gorgeous!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t say this very often, but I was darn proud of this creation. I feel like you could buy these for $4.00 at a fancy bakery! I think they would be amazing for a birthday party or a baby shower, or even for an Easter/Valentine’s treat!

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, New Recipes

One response to “Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: My favorite frosting… (at least today) « Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

