Spanish Spaghetti

Since I’m in no-sweet land, I needed to find some new recipes for dinner! I found a bunch of great pasta recipes on cookinglight.com. Since they are all pretty healthy (no cream, butter, etc.) and I use whole wheat pasta, I figure it is in line with my diet. No? Well shhh, don’t tell me. No sweets is hard enough, I can’t do no pasta. So anyway, here is the recipe: http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000001940998

This dish got some seriously high praise in my house. When bf and I were in Italy this summer, we stumbled upon this appetizer called olive ascolane. Basically, it’s giant green olives stuffed with sausage meat, then the whole thing is fried. We were a bit skeptical, but we figured we like meat, we like olives…and it’s fried, how bad can it be? The answer: unfreakingbelievable. We ended up ordering them all over Rome almost every night because we couldn’t stop eating them! So tonight, bf said “it reminds me of olive ascolane”. There is almost nothing nicer he could say. Clearly you should try it! Anyway, enough of my chatter, here’s how I did it:

In my gorgeous new skillet (isn’t this gigantic baby amazing?!?!?!), I cooked the onion for about 4 minutes, then I added the garlic and cooked for another minute.

 

 

 

 

Then, I added the celery salt, the oregano, the pepper and the meat. I then cooked it for about five minutes. I broke up the meat as it cooked and stirred everything together.

 

 

 

 

After the meat cooked, I added the sauce, the sliced olives, the capers, the sherry, and some parsley.

 

 

 

 

After the sauce simmered for 15 minutes, I added the cooked pasta and cooked for two more minutes until the pasta was hot.

 

 

 

 

Finally, I spooned some pasta into two bowls and sprinkled some Parmesan on top. It was amazing! What a delicious dinner!

1 Comment

Filed under New Recipes, Pasta, grains, etc.

One response to “Spanish Spaghetti

  1. Pingback: Recent Repeats | Miss Chefy's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

