Curried Potatoes and Chickpeas

While I’m on the continuous hunt for new recipes, I’ve also attempted to stretch the boundaries of my comfort zone. Here are my restrictions: I’m a total wuss when it comes to spicy food. I intensely dislike shellfish and cooked mushrooms. Mexican food is delicious, but tends to make me sick. I can’t eat any kind of red chili after eating it once when I had the flu and losing it two hours later. I love raw mushrooms, almost any kind of vegetable, meat, fruit, grain and fish (without a shell). I generally avoid rabbit after having a pet bunny that we called “bun-bun” but was officially named Rascal. I also steer clear of veal because baby cows are so darn cute (not super logical I know, but what can I say, I’m a softy when it comes to animals). Other than that, I’m pretty easy going. I’ll try (almost) anything once, but try to stick to a budget for my day-to-day food. So generally I don’t buy fish because it’s pricier and pasta is my go-to.

But in the name of variety, I decided to give this recipe a shot: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/curried-potatoes-and-chickpeas-recipe/index.html

It was tasty. Not overwhelming-must have seconds-can’t wait for leftover for lunch tomorrow tasty, but good. I left out the cayenne pepper and the jalapeños (see the wuss explanation above). Bf added the cayenne to his bowl once I was done. I learned that bf also prefers a curry sauce to a rub. But we both liked it.

When buying the potatoes, I didn’t realize they needed to be peeled. I would have ignored the suggestion to buy baby potatoes and instead gotten the big ones that are easy to peel. These were a pain in my tush, but I did it. Slowly and painstakingly. But it was good I did, the peels would have ruined it. Anyway, I put the potatoes in a pot and brought the water to a boil. Then I boiled then for about 4 minutes or until barely tender.

 

 

Once they were done, I melted the butter in the skillet and cooked the potatoes for 8 minutes, or until golden brown.

 

 

 

 

While the potatoes were cooking, I whipped up the topping. I added lime juice, cilantro and part of the potato water to a 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt. I don’t usually like yogurt sauces, but this was delicious!

 

 

 

 

After the 8 minutes, I added the curry powder and cooked for another 30 seconds. I forgot to take a picture of the next step in my rush to eat: I then added the chickpeas and a little more than a 1/2 cup of the reserved potato water. Using a fork, I then mashed the potatoes, stirred everything together and cooked for another minute or two, until everything was hot.

 

 

 

I spooned some into two bowls, added a little cilantro on top…

 

 

 

 

 

Added a dollop of the yogurt sauce….

 

 

 

 

 

And enjoyed with broccoli on the side! It was not my biggest hit, but certainly a successful dinner.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes, Pasta, grains, etc.

Leave a Reply

