Finally a new post- Valentine’s Day Soup

So you know what they say about best laid plans? Well actually, I’m notorious for screwing up common phrases so insert your own cliche here_____. For example, the two common phrases “that’s just how the cookie crumbles” and “how the cards fall”. My version “that’s just how the cookie falls”. Or, I like to add emphasis. So I would say “a very very blue moon”. Drives bf nuts. Yeah I know, embarrassing. I like to think of it as endearing. So anyway, my meat for the yummy burgers I was going to make on Friday was grey. Not moldy, just grey. And it totally creeped me out. So we opted for Thai takeout. Then after a long day Saturday watching the bf compete, pizza was my meal of choice. Basically, I failed as a cook this week.

Last night, I finally kicked my bum into shape. Several weeks ago, my mom sent me some pre-packaged soup mixes from a fancy grocery store in California. I gave this one a shot last night. It was amazingly delicious. I know it looks paltry and feeble and not at all hearty. Well the veggies, rice and pasta really stepped up and made the soup very robust.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First, I chopped the onion and bf cut up the chicken. I then cooked it in a bit of olive oil until the chicken was cooked through.

 

 

 

 

Then I added the rice/veggie mix, the chicken broth and the water. I brought everything to a boil, then simmered with the lid on for 30 minutes.

 

 

 

 

Next, I added the pasta and cooked for another 8-10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

While the pasta was softening, I mixed together the soup base and a few tablespoons of water.

 

 

 

 

After the pasta cooked, I added the soup base and let everything simmer together for a few more minutes.

 

 

 

 

I then served two big bowls of piping hot soup (and added ice cubes because bf and I are terrible about burning our tongues) and enjoyed. I wish I had some bread to serve on the side, but I guess it was healthier this way!

2 Comments

Filed under New Recipes

2 responses to “Finally a new post- Valentine’s Day Soup

  1. ACastro

    It still makes me laugh that you won’t deal with raw chicken 🙂

  2. I know it’s so ridiculous. But I just hate it!

Leave a Reply

