Turkey burgers with special sauce

In my quest to find more recipes with no or limited carbs, I stumbled upon this recipe at cookinglight.com. Ground turkey is such a nice alternative to meat and is so healing and gentle on the wallet,  couldn’t help but give it a try. It was delicious, fast and super easy! BF was a huge fan and it’s definitely something I’m going to make again. The recipe is below and then the steps I took.

Turkey Burgers with Special Sauce

Adapted from Cooking Light

Burgers:

  • 1/4  cup  chopped green onions
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh orange juice
  • 1  tablespoon  low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  teaspoon  finely chopped peeled fresh ginger
  • 1  garlic clove, minced
  • 1  pound  ground turkey breast
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2  cup  Special Sauce
  • 4  (1 1/2-ounce) whole wheat hamburger buns
  • sliced tomato
  • 4  curly leaf lettuce leaves

Sauce:

  • 3/4  cup  reduced-fat mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2  tablespoons  finely chopped green onions
  • 2  tablespoons  Dijon mustard
  • 1  tablespoon  honey
  • 1  teaspoon  fresh orange juice
  • 1  teaspoon  low-sodium soy sauce
  • a few sprinkles of ground ginger

First, I started by chopping the garlic, green onions and ginger. I then mixed my chopped items with the turkey, orange juice and soy sauce.

Using my hands, I then formed the meat into four fat patties. I don’t like when burgers are wide and flat, because they tend to dry out. Yay for fat burgers!

As you may remember, I don’t have a bbq, so I spray my big, beautiful skillet with cooking spray and then turned the heat on super high. I put the patties onto the hot skillet, and then after a few seconds, turned down the heat to low. I let each side cook for a few minutes uncovered, then cooked both sides for a few more minutes covered.

While the burgers were cooking, I mixed together the sauce ingredients. Although the sauce is delicious, there was way too much of it for just the burgers. If you are planning on doubling the meat or you have something else you can serve the sauce with, then the recipe was fine. If not, I’d probably halve the recipe in the future.

I then served the burgers on a tiny, thin wheat roll with fresh tomato, lettuce and a dollop of sauce. It was amazing!



Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Poultry, Etc., New Recipes

Leave a Reply

