Caramel Pork with Rice and Peas

This recipe is one I’m very iffy about. Actually I’m just iffy about posting it. It’s not very pretty. The pork actually tasted really good. The rice needed to be cooked more, but the sauce needed to cook longer as well. If I made these changes, I’d actually really like the recipe. But I’m committed to documenting my cooking successes, failures and everything in between so here goes.

Caramel Pork Recipe

Adapted from Cooking Light

  • 1  cup  water
  • 3/4  cup brown rice
  • 1/2  teaspoon  kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2  cup  frozen green peas, thawed
  • 1  tablespoon  rice vinegar
  • Cooking spray
  • 1  pound  pork tenderloin, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2  cup  chopped Vidalia or other sweet onion
  • 3  garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2  cup  fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 3  tablespoons  brown sugar
  • 1  tablespoon  lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 1  teaspoon chopped fresh ginger
  • 1/2  teaspoon  crushed red pepper
  • a few capers
  • 8  lime wedges

First, I cut up the pork. Yes that’s right, I cut up the pork. I even removed the fat! I sprayed the skillet with cooking spray and sautéed it for about five minutes.

 

 

 

 

Next, I added the onions and garlic and cooked for another two minutes.

 

 

 

 

Then I added the chicken broth, brown sugar, salt, ginger, and soy sauce and cooked for about five minutes until the sauce was thickened.  I actually should have taken the pork out of the skillet and cooked the sauce for a few more minutes. Meanwhile, while the pork was cooking, I also cooked the rice. After the rice simmered for 15 minutes and sat for another ten, I stirred in the vinegar and the peas. I should have cooked the rice longer because it was a little hard.

 

I then spooned some rice into the bowl, then poured a little sauce on top with some pork.


Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Poultry, Etc., New Recipes

Leave a comment