Hungarian Goulash

As a future PhD student, I am a lover of all things historical. I plan to spend the rest of my life devoted to uncovering historical truths, researching historical facts, and teaching historical lessons. Therefore, I think you all should consider yourself very lucky that I have been able to restrain myself through 104 posts without giving a history lesson. Yes, that’s right, this is my 105th post! I must confess, I’m giving myself a little pat on the back. Just a tiny one.

Unfortunately, my streak ends here. For those of you who hate history, scroll down a bit. But I swear I’ll try and make it interesting. A Hungarian goulash is a traditional meal made by cattle herdsman that is primarily a soup, also existing as stew, usually made of beef, onions, vegetables, spices and ground paprika powder. It can be served with potatoes or noodles or just as a soup.

This research is what I turned up before undertaking this meal. Which is why I was a little surprised when my mix turned a little more mushy and less soupy.

I am such a fan of these soup mixes. There are tons of different brands, but I love that they are real ingredients and always have great flavor. This particular package was my newest endeavor. Although it wasn’t entirely what I expected, it was delicious!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

First, I started by browning the meat. I used just under 1 lb. The package called for 3/4 of a pound, so I think if I had used less meat, the soup would have been more brothy. However, I didn’t want to throw the extra out, so I just used it all.

 

 

 

Then, I added the spice packet and the soup mix and cooked for about a minute.

 

 

 

 

Then I added the Worcestershire sauce and a full container of beef broth and simmered covered 40 minutes.

 

 

 

 

After the soup had simmered for a while, I added the chopped canned tomatoes and simmered for another 15 minutes. While the soup was cooking, I also boiled a box  of pasta.

 

 

 

 

When the pasta was done, I served the soup/stew mix over the noodles. With a little salt and red pepper flakes for bf, it was an amazing dinner!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

