Brownies with chocolate chips, coconut and caramelized milk

So as you know, I’ve been trying to avoid baking sweets. I certainly have desserts here in there in little bites, but if I don’t have sweets in my house, I can limit the amounts. Occasionally however, despite my best efforts, I have baking explosions. One of those happened on Sunday night. There were sparks, smoke and flames. Despite the craziness, the product was delicious. Actually, it was so rich, I could barely eat more than one. I would make a few changes here and there so it’s a work in progress. But for chocolate fanatics- this is your dessert.

Insane Brownies

Adapted from Southern Living

  • 4  (1-ounce) unsweetened chocolate baking squares
  • 1  cup  butter, softened
  • 2  cups  sugar
  • 4  large eggs
  • 1  cup  all-purpose flour
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1  cup  semisweet chocolate morsels
  • 2  cups  sweetened flaked coconut
  • 1  (12-ounce) package semisweet chocolate morsels
  • 1 1/2  cups  chopped pecans
  • 1  (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk


First, I started by melting the chocolate squares. I needed four squares of unsweetened chocolate. I melted it by microwaving the chocolate for 30 second intervals and then stirring and repeating.

 

 

 

 

Then, I beat together the butter and sugar.

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I added the eggs one at a time and beat everything together again.

 

 

 

 

Then, I added the melted chocolate and mixed again.

 

 

 

 

 

Next I added the flour and mixed again.

 

 

 

 

 

Before I poured the batter in the pan, I lined it with tin foil, spray it with cooking spray and dusted it with flour. This technique is definitely not the norm for me, the recipe suggested it so I thought I’d give it a try. It was a bad idea. The brownies stuck to the sides and were nearly impossible to pry away from the foil. Next time, I just use cooking spray.

 

 

I stirred the chocolate chips into the batter and then spread the batter evenly over the pan.

 

 

 

 

Then I sprinkled the coconut over the batter.

 

 

 

 

 

Next, I sprinkled the rest of the chocolate chips over the coconut.

 

 

 

 

 

Finally, I sprinkled the condensed milk all over the pan.

 

 

 

 

 

I baked the pan for 50 minutes on 350. The insides were done perfectly, but the outsides were a little too done. Not that the brownie was bad, but the milk was caramelized and too hard.

 

 

 

 

These brownies are the ones from the center. Absolutely delicious. I haven’t quite figured out how to make the sides as amazing. But in the mean time we are enjoying these.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

