Sausage Lentil Soup

Sunday was cloudy, blustery and stormy. Not to mention dark. Like black all day dark. So obviously, soup was the perfect dinner plan. I still have lots of those amazing soup mixes, so I decided to try a sausage and lentil option. I thought it really wasn’t fair to keep raving about these soups without giving you guys more details, or even better, a place to buy them! I found the website, it’s www.frontiersoups.com and this soup was the one I made the other night. Yay! Oh and just for the record, Frontier Soups has no idea who I am and I am not getting endorsed for this post in any way. I just happened to find these soups and love them!

This is what my mix looked like. It had about 1.5-2 cups of brown and orange lentils. The vegetable packet contained dried carrots, celery, onions, spices and paprika. As you will see I also added broth, sausage, zucchini, diced tomatoes and red wine.

 

 

 

 

 

I started by removing the meat from the sausage casings and then browning the meat in a large pot.

 

 

 

I then added the spice and veggie packet and mixed everything together.

 

 

 

I then added the broth (12 cups) and simmered covered for about 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, I added the 3 medium-sized chopped zucchinis and simmered for another 30 minutes.

 

Next, I added the tomatoes ( a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes) and wine (1 cup red) and simmered for another 30 minutes (uncovered this time). Note to self: when making this soup again in the future, use a larger pot.

When it was all done, I served the soup in two heaping bowls with some Parmesan cheese. The apartment smelled absolutely amazing and the soup was hardy and delicious!

3 Comments

Filed under New Recipes

3 responses to “Sausage Lentil Soup

  1. Pingback: Sausage Lentil Soup | Food Frenzy

  2. I love lentils, I love sausage….I seriously think I’ll LOVE this soup! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

