The Chocolate Fiasco of 2011

As you all know, I recently received a new cookbook “500 Chocolate Delights”. It has been wonderful, but it seriously let me down this time. I had another work event and I was hoping to make Devil’s Food Cake Bars. Basically it’s a Devil’s Food cake, sliced in half, filled and topped with a soft meringue frosting, then sliced into bars. The result was far from it. In fact, I was so angry last night, my kitchen was filled with swearing and the occasional thrown oven mitt.

This is what happened. I followed the recipe exactly. Like, read it five times just to be sure I didn’t make any mistakes, exactly. I used an 8×8 pan. The exact same ingredients. Everything. Even now, I have not the slightest idea what went wrong. The only thing I can guess is that there somehow was a typo or a mistake. I think the cake would have worked alright in a 9 x 13 pan. But here is where I get confused. The recipe said it would produce 10 bars. A 9 x 13 pan would produce far more than 10 bars. So that would require two major typos- hardly the work of a professional editor.

My other guess, is that the measurement of 4 cups self-rising flour was a typo. In theory, this option makes far more sense. 4 cups of flour seemed like a lot to my inexperienced eyes. And the batter certainly seemed like it made an awful lot. Yet, again I run into confusion. As you will see below, the top layer of the cake was baked. I tried it and it was amazing. Wouldn’t the cake taste all wrong if there was too much flour?

Even now as I talk through it, I am no closer to solving the riddle of the Devil’s Food Cake Bars. Does anyone have any ideas? I would be eternally grateful. So grateful in fact, that I will send you a batch of the finished product once I get it right, or any dessert of choice. Because this whole mess is driving me insane!

So for your amusement, I thought I would include a few pictures of the exploding, overflowing chocolate blob. You can see the bits of cake on the bottom of the oven that first gave me an indication that something was wrong (they started to fill the apartment with smoke).

 

Here is a close up to show you just how much the cake was actually overflowing.

 

So please give me ideas as to what might have gone wrong!

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert, New Recipes

2 responses to “The Chocolate Fiasco of 2011

  1. ACastro

    Oh my goodness! This totally speaks to the great pumpkin disaster of 2008… Sorry it didn’t work out 😦

  2. You’re right! I can’t believe I didn’t make that connection, but so true! Unfortunately, there wasn’t even an end product I could eat in this one 😦

Leave a Reply

