Pasta with Baby Spinach, Herbs and Ricotta

In the spirit of honesty and showing my successes, failures and everything in between, I am going to document this recipe. I hated this dish. I couldn’t even finish my bowl. I didn’t like the spinach in the pasta. I love fresh spinach in salads, but there wasn’t enough of a sauce or dressing to go with the spinach. The herbs were also way too much. The dill especially was totally overpowering. Finally, the ricotta was way to bland to go with everything else. If I was to recreate the dish, I would do goat cheese and some spinach, maybe less or steam it first, and a sprinkling of parsley. So, essentially this dish without the chicken.

I was especially disappointed by the outcome, because the recipe was from Cooking Light, and usually their dishes are so tasty. But, nonetheless, I documented the process.

First, I rinsed the spinach and patted it dry with a paper towel.

Then, while the pasta was cooking, I chopped up all of the herbs.

Once the pasta finished cooking, I reserved about a cup of the cooking liquid, although in the end, I really only need about a 1/2 cup.

In my mini-cuisinart, I blended the ricotta cheese and a half cup of the cooking liquid until smooth.

Next, I mixed everything together in a large bowl.

Finally, I served up two bowls. Bf ate his because he didn’t want to hurt my feelings, but I could barely eat half before I gave up. Yucky!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes, Pasta, grains, etc.

Leave a Reply

