Royal Wedding Scones and Tea

Recently, one of my hobbies has been tracking my genealogy. Basically, I’m from Great Britain. In a nut shell, there is some Irish ancestors, some Welsh ancestors, and then loads and loads of English ancestors. It’s no surprise to anyone who has met me. I have three skin options: Casper-the-friendly-ghost-fair, freckled, or hot tamale-burned. Needless to say, the sun and I don’t agree with each other.

Add my interest in heritage to my love of history (plus fashion, weddings and dresses, who am I kidding, I’m a girl and a hopeless romantic) and you have the makings of a gigantic obsession with the royal wedding. I’ve always been fascinated with British royalty. One look at my bookshelves stacked with a borderline unhealthy number of biographies and historical fiction novels about Queen Elizabeth I and the Tudors and you’ll see what I mean. But who doesn’t love a good old fashioned fairy tale love story like William and Catherine’s romance. I certainly do.

So yesterday morning at 5:00 AM, I crawled out of bed, looking quite unglamorous, and enjoyed these scones and a cup of tea in honor of the Royal Wedding. They were delicious and the perfect treat.

Oatmeal Scones

from Gourmet

  • 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups plus 2 tablespoons old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 sticks (3/4 cup) cold unsalted butter, cut into tablespoon pieces
  • 2/3 cup well-shaken buttermilk plus additional for brushing

First, I started by measuring all of the dry ingredients except the oats into a big bowl and whisked together.

I then whisked in the oats until well combined.

The recipe then called for the dry mixture to be poured into a cuisinart and the butter slices added. Since I only have a baby mixer, I had to do it in three parts.

After I finished mixing the three parts of the dry ingredients, I put the mix in a big bowl.

Next, I added the buttermilk and stirred with a fork until just barely a dough. I then turned the dough out onto my floured counter and kneaded a few times.

I then patted flat the dough until it was about a 1/2 inch thick. Using a sharp knife, I sliced the dough into 8 pieces. I then diagonally cut the 8 pieces in half.

After the pieces were cut, I brushed the tops with buttermilk.

Then, I sprinkled each slice with a little brown sugar and extra oats and baked them for about 14 minutes at 425 degrees.

Once the scones were just golden brown, I cooled them on wire racks until complete cool.

Then I stored them in my cake display, because I think it’s simply too pretty not to be put to use!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

