Potato, Chicken and Fresh Pea Salad

This dish is an amazing summer dinner. It’s super easy, light, healthy and doesn’t require an oven (which is a major bonus on those hot summer nights). It also tastes great.

Potato, Chicken and Fresh Pea Salad

from Cooking Light 

  • 1 pound fingerling or baby potatoes, cut crosswise into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 cups fresh sugar snap peas
  • 2 cups chopped skinless, boneless chicken breast or tenders
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh tarragon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Parmesan for sprinkling on top

First, I cut up the potatoes into 1/2 inch pieces. I then covered the potatoes with water and brought the pot to a bowl.

I then chopped up the red peppers, onions and the chicken.

When the potatoes are almost done, I added the sugar snap peas, which I had already trimmed and cooked them for about 2-3 minutes.

When the veggies were cooking, I mixed together the dressing. Basically, the ingredients from the olive oil down.

Then, I added the potatoes and the peas.

Next, I added the dressing and mixed everything together.

When I dished the salad into bowls, it seemed like something was missing to me, so I added Parmesan cheese. It was brilliant! Best addition ever.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Poultry, Etc., New Recipes

Leave a comment