Garbanzos (with sausage and red sauce)

One of my friends is going to be traveling abroad almost all summer (raise your hand if you are jealous…both of mine are up).

As a sweet see-you-later gift, she gave me a little book with her go-to recipes. Seeing as how I am constantly struggling to come up with new recipes, this present could not be more perfect. This recipe immediately jumped out at me as something I had to try for dinner. Not only is it quick and easy, it’s healthy and beyond delicious.

Garbanzos

  • 1/2 of an onion (I used an entire small one because I didn’t want to waste any)
  • 1/2 of a green bell pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil
  • A few shakes of garlic powder (next time I might use garlic salt to add a tiny bit more flavor)
  • sausage, I used 5 small sweet Italian links
  • 2 cans of garbanzo beans
  • 1 can of tomato sauce (depending on how much sausage you use, anywhere from 8-14 ounces)
  • brown rice, or quinoa
Because my sausage wasn’t precooked like a lot of other great options, I started by removing the casings and cooking up the meat. I cook for a few minutes on one side, then flip over and cook for a few minutes on the other side. While the second side is cooking, I use my wooden spoon to start breaking up the sausages into bite size pieces. Then I repeat the whole thing until the meat is cooked through.
Once the sausage was cooked, I added the chopped onion, green pepper, the garlic powder and some olive oil. I then cooked the whole thing over medium heat until the onions were tender and translucent.
Next, I added the garbanzo beans (which I had rinsed in a strainer earlier) and the tomato sauce. I let the whole pan simmer for about 15 minutes.
While the garbanzo mix was simmering, I prepared the quinoa and the brussel sprouts. I used quinoa because I didn’t have rice and frankly it’s a little healthier than rice anyway. To make the sprouts, I boiled them for about 7 minutes, then drained them, sliced them in half or quarters and returned them to the pot. I added about 1 tablespoon of margarine and some minced garlic and cooked for another few minutes.
My final product! It was so delicious and healthy, I will be making it again very soon! Thanks so much to my friend Amanda for the recipe!
Leave a comment

Filed under Meat, Poultry, Etc., New Recipes

Leave a Reply

