Pho

On nights when I don’t cook, we have a few go-to take-out places. There is the obligatory pizza and Chinese take-out, but bf and I are also obsessed with Pho (pronounced like football without the “tball”. It’s actually sort of a mix of foo and “ooo” but it’s a sound that most English speakers can’t pronounce because they didn’t learn it from a young age. It is, under no circumstances, pronounced “faux”) Sorry for that rant, it’s a major pet peeve of mine. Pho is a Vietnamese soup with beef, noodles and a beef broth. We originally learned about it thanks to our wonderful friend Dan. We are actually fortunate enoughto have two great Vietnamese restaurants nearby, but I prefer the one with stronger broth. It’s super filling and a great meal for a cold night, a sick night or anything in between :). If you haven’t tried it, you definitely should! I did for the first time in June and I’ve never looked back!

The broth comes in a container like this.

Then you get a container of noodles, beef, and some veggies. I keep in the parsley and some of the green onions, but I take out the white onions because they are too crunchy for my taste. I like my soup without a whole lot of crunch.

You also get a bag of bean sprouts, basil and some sriracha and hoisin sauce mixed together. I leave out all of these things (yes I know you will be outraged Dan). The sriracha and hoisin mix is way to spicey for me. One drop and my mouth burns for hours. But I’m a total wuss and bf won’t have pho without it. The basil is totally a preference thing and the sprouts are too crunchy for me. Yeah, I’m weird, I know.

I start by putting the meat and noodles in a big bowl and then pouring the broth into the bowl over the top. Using the chopsticks, I break up the noodles and then I enjoy. There is no graceful or right way to eat Pho, you just have to figure out how it works best for you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Oldies and Goodies

Leave a Reply

