Pasta with chicken, artichokes, kalamata olives and tomato sauce

So after my big personal success last week, I was feeling confident about my ability to go with the flow in the kitchen. I was going out of town for the weekend, so before I left, I decided to use some of the ingredients I had sitting around the house. It was a gigantic, enormous success! If I do say so, I am very proud of myself! Not only was this dish amazing, but I made it up! You should definitely try it.

Pasta with lots of nummies

  • 1 box of pasta, around 14 ounces
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes, 14 ounces
  • about 12 ounces of tomato sauce
  • 1 box of frozen artichoke hearts
  • 1/2 cup of white wine
  • 15-20 kalamata olives, sliced in half
  • 1/2-1 onion, chopped
  • a few cloves of garlic, diced
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1.5-2 chicken breasts
I started by cooking the chopped chicken breast in olive oil until the pieces were browned and cooked through. I then removed the chicken to a plate and heated up the other tablespoon of olive oil in the pan.
I then added the onion and cooked for a minute or two before adding the artichoke hearts. I continued to cook the onion until it was just slightly browned. Oh, and about this time I started cooking the pasta.
I then added the garlic and cooked for about 30 seconds before adding the white wine. I then let the whole mix simmer for a few minutes in the wine.
I then added the tomatoes, sauce, olives, and chicken and let the whole thing simmer for another 5-10 minutes.
I then served the sauce over the pasta and boy was it delicious!!!
2 Comments

Filed under New Recipes, Pasta, grains, etc.

2 responses to “Pasta with chicken, artichokes, kalamata olives and tomato sauce

  1. You get 3 out of 4 ticks on this recipe for chicken, kalamata olives and tomato sauce. I’ve done nothing with artichokes so far, I know, silly! But you have to cook what your family will eat. A family including children who can smell a green vegetable a mile away – and turn up their noses at it.

    • You should definitely try artichoke hearts in this recipe! They really blend in and could even be confused for the chicken! Also, they don’t really taste like vegetables so you might get lucky! If you haven’t visited and you have a spare moment, stop by my new blog: youngscholarslife.blogspot.com. I have been posting all of my new recipes there!

Leave a Reply

