Toasted Chickpea and Apricot Salad

This salad is perfect for a (unbearably hot, straight-from-Satan’s Lair) summer night. Yup that’s right. D.C. is miserable right now. Luckily, I found this salad in the recent Cooking Light and I loved it! It’s pretty similar to this salad, (which bf liked better since he doesn’t really like fruit in his salad), but I loved this one!

Toasted Chickpea and Apricot Salad

adapted from Cooking Light Magazine

  • 2 16 ounce cans of chickpeas, rinsed, drained, and patted dry
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/4 cup olive oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange rind
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh orange juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 of a red onion, sliced thinly
  • 4 large apricots, pitted and sliced
  • 1 bag of arugula and mixed greens, rinsed thoroughly
  • 4 ounces crumbled feta cheese
First, I rinsed my chickpeas in a strainer and patted them dry with paper towels. (I used two 16 ounce cans of chickpeas, it was a little more than the recipe called for, but I think the amount turned out right). I then put the chickpeas in a baking dish, added two tablespoons of olive oil, the cumin and coriander, and stirred everything together with a spoon until the chickpeas were coated. I then baked the peas for 20 minutes at 450 degrees.
While the chickpeas were roasting, I combined the orange rind, the orange juice, the vinegar, salt, pepper and the rest of the olive oil in a large bowl. I whisked it all together using a fork.
I then sliced up four apricots and half of a red onion and tossed them with the dressing. I let the mix sit for about 5-10 minutes while the peas finished roasting.
When the peas were done, I added them to the bowl, along with the arugula. I then sprinkled the feta on top and mixed again.
All done! Super easy, 20 minutes start to finish. Would go great with some crusty bread. Yum!
Leave a comment

Filed under New Recipes

Leave a Reply

